Learning kanji
  • Hello everyone,
    I am new here, although I have been using Denshi Jisho for quite a while. I am sort of intermediate, but when I am trying to read original texts, I don't always remember on-yomi, and also sometimes not sure how to read even a familiar kanji in defferent combinations. I dedicate a lot of time to studying Japanese (at least 2 or 3 hours a day), completed Minna no Nihongo Books 1 and 2, Basic Kanji Book 1 and 2 and I am curently using Intermediate Kanji Book 1, but it feels like I am not making any progress. Am I doing something wrong? Can anybody give me some advice or share his own kanji learning experience please?
  • In my opinion the important thing is to learn words, not just readings or kanji meanings on their own.

I wouldn't say you're doing anything wrong though, there's a lot to remember, it just takes time.
  • Thanks, I agree that kanji should be learnt in context, and that's what I am trying to do. I started learning kanji about a year ago, but I am wondering how long it takes on average to get to the level when you can actually enjoy reading without the need to look up kanji every second ! Sometimes I just despair. I do read children's books and have started a novel by Ekuni Kaori recently. Bur reading newspapers is a nightmare, I give up after a few sentences.
  • I agree with Lanjimancer.
    Even if you know a good amount of kanji and check out a childrens book in japanese (all in hiragana usually), there are so many basic words that people won't recognize.
    Then again, in kanji study, the more you study, the less progress you might feel (since more complex kanji are used less often). 頑張ってね
  • To be honest it's a bit of a conflict for me... I want to learn Japanese, but I enjoy learning new kanji more than I do new words >.>

I know all the 常用漢字, and quite a few more... but it still doesn't feel like enough.