I just love kanji
  • So I've been studying Japanese for about four years now. Three of those years was entirely 自分で, but I just finished my freshman year of college and took an intermediate class the whole year. The studying I did on my own was mostly based in written Japanese; I taught myself the kana, and from there basic grammar and a many kanji. That's mostly what I did; I knew I couldn't really teach myself grammar but kanji is simple to learn on your own.

Anyway, a trend I've noticed is that people just do. not. like learning Chinese characters. In class, every time sensei busted out more kanji for the next kanji test all my classmates would moan and cry, and I spent a while getting to know a Chinese foreign exchange student in my hometown, and we talked a lot about kanji 'cause that's what we could bond over. Long story short, he said he, like most Chinese, just hated learning more characters.

The thing is, that's probably my favorite part about learning Japanese. Kanji are, simply, beautiful. The English language, like the majority of languages without ideograms, lack this entire wonderful aspect of their orthographies. Granted, it's difficult to learn because of the sheer number of characters, but it's still wonderful.

Honestly I don't know why I made this topic. I just like the forum here at Jisho, and granted it's slow paced and has few visitors, I like the discussions here (plus the dictionary is great, and kanji by radicals has been the biggest effing help EVER). Just trying to breathe a little life into the discussion board, as well as introduce myself, in a way.

So yeah, I'm 18 years old, about to be a sophomore at university; I've been studying Japanese for almost five years now, mostly on my own, mostly self taught, and I'm born and raised in West Texas, which explains my lack of opportunities to learn this beautiful language and why I had to rely on my own self to start learning.