Language school
  • Hi all,

I'm interested in studying Japanese in Kyoto.
    I have been there once and I think it's a beautiful city.

I researched on the internet and I've found a school which seems interesting.
    The name is Kyoto Minsai Japanese Language School. They offer various courses. This is their website:
    http://www.kyotominsai.co.jp/english/

My questions are:
    Does anyone have studied there? Can someone recommend this school? What do you think about this website?

Or do you have experiences with other language schools in Kyoto? If yes which one? How was it?

Thank you very much,

RobertH
  • A friend of mine studied there and although she said the environment was great, she did not learn much- Japanese language, I mean.
    pokies online
  • I think Kyoto is great also. I have no personal experience with language schools, so I'm afraid I can't help very much, but I can point out one possible issue to you.

One of my American friends went to one and his big problem was that almost everyone in his class was Chinese or Korean, who already knew the kanji. The course went through a lot of kanji very quickly, and he had real difficulty trying to keep up.

If you think this might be an issue for you also, you could try asking a few of the schools what percentage of students are English-speaking (likely small), Chinese and Korean. (Most people from other Asian countries don't typically learn many kanji growing up.) From the website, it looks like Minsai might be fairly diverse (in terms of Asian countries), since it says they have staff who speak Chinese, English, Thai and Vietnamese (plus webpages in many languages). Another school I found online which seems to have some Westerners is here:

http://www.kicl.ac.jp/index.php

I know nothing about the school, but it may be worth looking at the website.