Can someone look at my translation please?
  • Hi,
    I currently take a one day a week evening Japanese course (on week 19, so a complete beginner) and we're expected to a give a speech.
    I decided to try and translate a story and was wondering if someone could look over what I've written, not so much for content but if it grammatically makes sense. Doomo arigatou!

これは 兎 です。 これは 亀 です。

『 わたしたちは 山へ いって、 かけましょうか?

私は かちます、 より はやい です から。』と 兎は いうった。

亀 と 兎 は 山 へ いきます。

兎は ランニング を して、 亀を おいつきました。

亀 おそく あるいて、 のぼりました。

『いそいでください !!』 と 兎わ いうった。

そして、 きのしたで ねました。

それはら、 亀 かちました、 兎 こうまんちき でした から。

『みじめ で はいけません。 にんじん は たべませんか?』と 亀は いうった。
  • Sorry, but your story is riddled with errors. It's not your fault of course, 1 class a week for 19 weeks is NOTHING, it's your teachers fault for expecting you to be able to produce decent output in such a short time-frame. Some of the story is just grammatically incorrect like 私は かちます、 より はやい です から。』と 兎は いうった。 Where should be something along the lines of 「あなたより速いから、私が勝ちます」と兎言った。 while other parts are just unnatural (that is, is different from how a Japanese person would say it) like これは 兎 です。 これは 亀 です。 which should be something like 兎と亀がいました。

I'm sort of the idea that this forum shouldn't be for getting help with homework, so I'm not really sure I should help you with your speech, probably better to let you do it as it is and get proper help from your teacher. What I DO think is that you should tell your teacher that it's a bit odd to demand output from students who still lack proper comprehension. It just becomes very unnatural and odd and doesn't really help your understanding... it just forces you to rely on a dictionary.

If you need help with something specific like "I want to say something like this, how do I work it?" I'll gladly help you with that though.
  • Hi,