Day to day motivation
  • A simple question, just like the title says, how do you get yourself to study daily (maybe not daily but at least at a regular interval) and since this is a japanese dictionary website so its about studying japanese.

For me right now im procrastinating like crazy and i just cant seem to get my laziness.. well... to go away. That, and compounded by the fact that im studying on my own, well lets just say that it has an impact on my sense of self-responsibility (or lack thereof).

So what about you guys? especially those that learn by themselves, perhaps you can inspire me to get back to studying? :P
  • Use a spaced repetition system (SRS) for all your vocabulary and basic grammar learning. They are flashcards that drive themselves. The only thing you have to do is launch the program. The software takes care of the rest, and for me I am able to learn material fast enough that I never feel bad about my progress or lack thereof.

I use Anki - http://ankisrs.net/

Add new stuff to it every day and open the program every day. Up to and including that, it's up to you. You have to find a reason to study (studying on its own won't do it. You will stop and probably not start again, because you will naturally use your free time for things you care more about.)

If you live in a big city or near a university, you can probably find a Japanese person who is willing to trade Japanese help for English help.

Good luck!
  • haha.. yeah i learn materials fast enough too, unless its something thats really complicated or confusing. But maintaining said progress is whats difficult for me.. :P
  • Personally, I think it's helpful if you set clear goals, as well as having study materials you enjoy. For example, to go through one section of a book per day, or spend 30 minutes a day reading.