I do not know
  • So I'm confused, is it shirimasen (知りません) or shitteimasen (知っていません)?
    Which one is the correct one and why?

Oh and I just started learning so please bear with me.
    Thanks in advance.
  • "Shirimasen" is the usual form.

It's better to say "wakarimasen" since "shirimasen" can be rude.

Please see http://www.sljfaq.org/afaq/shiru-wakaru.html (this is a page by me).
  • so regarding my first question, both shirimasen and shitteimasen is correct? just that it's better to say wakarimasen?

what if someone asks whether i know something or someone or not, say if it goes something like this "blah blah blah (insert something/someone here) shitteimasuka?" what do i answer then, shitteimasen or shirimasen?
    of course, if i do not want to be rude i'll use wakarimasen.

sorry im just confused with the shirimasen or shitteimasen thingy...
  • You don't say 知っていません. It's 知りません.

"It's better to say "wakarimasen" since "shirimasen" can be rude."

It depends on the context. They are different words and mean different things.
  • yes i sort of understand the difference between those two just not a hundred percent clear, i suppose with more exposure and experience i will get it down.

But thats why i wasnt asking about "wakarimasen/shirimasen" itself, but whether the negative form of 知っています is shirimasen or shitteimasen and why.
  • shitte imasen is present progressive negative
    shirimasen is present indictive negative
    I have no idea what the hell those mean, just that what you say is correct

punch "shiru" into there
    http://www.japaneseverbconjugator.com/
  • erm... what did i say that you were reffering to is cor
  • erm... what did i say that you were reffering to is correct?
    sorry, kinda lost there..

but, yeah i dont really understand what those mean aside from the obvious ones like present progressive is in english "to be verb+ing.."
    however the ~ている form has more meaning/usage than "to be verb+ing"..

okay, so back on topic.